PinoyWindowsPhone Forum Index
 
Home Profile FAQ Search Memberlist Log in to check your private messages Log in Register
Home Forum Profile FAQ Search Memberlist Private Messages Log in  Register

Settings for Dopod 838Pro
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    PinoyWindowsPhone Forum Index -> HTC / Dopod Windows Mobile Professional devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
lonerjam
Windows Mobile Expert


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 314

PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2006 12:19 am    Post subject: Settings for Dopod 838Pro Reply with quote

hi guys. can you share here the Dopod 838Pro configuration settings of 3g, gprs and mms for the 3 networks: globe, smart and sun. thanks.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

lonerjam
Windows Mobile Expert


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 314

PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2006 6:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i got this from jayteecie's reply in the other thread.

try this:
1) tap the U or G icon at the top of your screen
2) tap settings >>> tap connections
3) tap manage existing connections >> tap new
4)enter myGlobe Internet for the new connection
5) select cellular line (GPRS, 3G) for the modem type
6) tap next>> write internet.globe.com.ph in the access point name
7) tap next>> leave username, password and domain blank
tap advanced>> under tcp/ip tab make sure use server assigned ip address is selected; under server tab, make sure server assigned addresses is also selected.
9) tap ok. then tap finished

fire up your browser, you should be able to see your icon connecting initially then if it becomes steady already, try to browse now. that's it! happy browsing! Laughing

as for smart settings, the only difference is the access point name, just change it to internet.

oh by the way, please make sure that your gprs is activated by your service provider. as for the charges iirc, globe's rate is 15centavos/kb while smart's rate is p10/30min.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ace
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Jul 2006
Posts: 716
Location: Pasig City, Philippines

PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2006 7:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i guess this would apply to other models as well: does "internet.globe.com.ph" cover all services including mms? what about streaming video on globe's website? it seems to be using "myglobe stream" and real player (which i understand is buggy for wm5).

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
jomni
Windows Mobile Expert


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 259
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2006 8:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ace wrote:
i guess this would apply to other models as well: does "internet.globe.com.ph" cover all services including mms? what about streaming video on globe's website? it seems to be using "myglobe stream" and real player (which i understand is buggy for wm5).


I think it's mms.globe.com.ph before but they might have changed.
_________________
Visit my blogs:
http://rmquant.blogspot.com (finance)
http://jomnisgames.blogspot.com (video games)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ace
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Jul 2006
Posts: 716
Location: Pasig City, Philippines

PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2006 11:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yup, but once auto-config is done with the unit, the only apn there is internet.globe.com.ph. i wonder if this covers all or if we need to input the others (e.g. mms.globe.com.ph, real.globe.com.ph) as well. of course, whether it works is another thing

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger

grsd
New Recruit


Joined: 25 Nov 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what about the settings for 3G and GPRS for Smart? What's the access point name?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ppcsurfr
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jul 2006
Posts: 2008
Location: San Juan, Metro Manila, Philippines

PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

grsd wrote:
what about the settings for 3G and GPRS for Smart? What's the access point name?


there is only one setting for 3G and GPRS.

The APN for SMART Internet is internet.

Message posted using a Windows Mobile device

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
dinoalbert
Windows Mobile Expert


Joined: 19 Nov 2006
Posts: 455

PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2006 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Saan na nga pala ang Autoconfig ng 838 Pro I cant seem to find it?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jayteecie
Windows Mobile Hotshot


Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 811
Location: N 85622.5 E125327.4

PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 4:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

try to look for it inside programs.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MMJ
Windows Mobile Regular


Joined: 08 Sep 2006
Posts: 230
Location: Las Pinas

PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 1:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dinoalbert wrote:
Saan na nga pala ang Autoconfig ng 838 Pro I cant seem to find it?

its in Settings > Connections > Network Wizard. once it loads just select Philippines and then your provider. after configuration (typically takes less than a min) u'll need a restart. hope this helps

Message posted using a Windows Mobile device

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
lonerjam
Windows Mobile Expert


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 314

PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 8:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

do you have to send a sms to smart for your 3g to activate? i cant seem to connect. i have no problem w/ globe cause of the auto configuration but im just afraid of its 3g rate. Very Happy

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jayteecie
Windows Mobile Hotshot


Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 811
Location: N 85622.5 E125327.4

PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 10:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

in my case (i'm using a smart prepaid sim), yes. i remember sending an SMS before to have GPRS and MMS activated. unfortunately i can't remember the message nor the number already. try calling their hotline.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lonerjam
Windows Mobile Expert


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 314

PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 11:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok i just called smart hotline +632-8881111

according to their csr this what i should do:

1. type MMS<space> ON and send to 333

wait for their reply

2. type set<space>3G<space>DOPOD838PRO and send to 211

and to activate the gprs

3. type set<space>DOPOD838PRO and send to 211

not sure about gprs settings but this is according to the csr i talked to and we went through the steps again just to be sure of his answer. i havent tried it yet cause im still testing my unit with my globe number.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JJC
Cadet


Joined: 29 Oct 2006
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 5:07 pm    Post subject: wireless modem Reply with quote

How about settings for wireless modem? I tried using usb but cannot be recognized as a modem. Via bluetooth recognized but cannot connect. Followed manual instructions but failed Sad

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JJC
Cadet


Joined: 29 Oct 2006
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 5:19 pm    Post subject: mobile tv Reply with quote

Also with Smart I get to the 3g page but when i start connecting with abs-cbn or gma i get this prompt: The file 'rtsp://10.138.20.3/broadcast/abscbn.rm' cannot be opened. Either it is not signed with a trusted certificate, or one of its components cannot be found. You might need to reinstall or restore this file.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    PinoyWindowsPhone Forum Index -> HTC / Dopod Windows Mobile Professional devices All times are GMT + 8 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group